And just WHO are these mosaic addicts?

Almost complete, originally uploaded by GeoWombats.

Well, I’m Donna and I’m the person who volunteered to set up the blog so I figure that I’d better put my money where my mouth is since I agreed with Sandy’s idea of Mosaic Addicts doing a little bio post on themselves. This is a picture of me in June this year with my very first mosaic just waiting to be grouted. The turtle was inspired by Tongan ngatu designs which are a part of my heritage. Yep, I’m an absolute beginner and enthusiastic amateur. I’m constantly learning and my ideas are always way, way, way ahead of my skills and experience.
The lesson learned from this mosaic is that pool tiles are really hard to break! And draw in your borders right from the beginning before you stick anything down LOL.
I like taking photos and if you check out my flickr pages there is a set about mosaics I have photographed in Darwin, Australia.
I also keep a mosaics themed blog which started as a place to file away pics of great mosaics, useful information etc and which now seems to have a regular following.
I’m a great believer in people needing to feel passionate about something and in also needing to have a creative outlet. Mosaics seems to be the one for me which is just as well as I cannot knit and crochet or do the traditional women’s crafts. And while I can be creative in the kitchen, it doesn’t exactly last long enough! I get much more excited going to the local hardware store to investigate new glues and grout.

 

Superhero Mum, originally uploaded by GeoWombats.

And this is me in SuperMum mode wearing a slightly too large stinger suit because I also like to sail baby boats aka toppers. Official uniform for MozAddicts Wildlife Warriors maybe? рЯШЙ

 

 

2 responses to “And just WHO are these mosaic addicts?

  1. Donna, you have ventured into brave new worlds with that outfit – LOL! I will oost a pic of some mosaic addicts later today in the studio. The Poppet, Herself, Itself, Polly, Myself, and other nuts – lots with pink hair tresses either obvious or concealed…., the secret mosaic addicts sect sign!
    Sandy
    http://www.ozmosaics.com

Leave a Reply

