Emu

Emu 1, originally uploaded by Snelvis.

Australia – Broken Hill Road Trip – Driving from Broken Hill to White Cliffs, originally uploaded by Keegan and Sonja.

The Emu is Australia’s tallest native bird, reaching 1.6-1.9m when standing erect. It weighs 30-45kg, which is lighter than its closest living relative, the Southern Cassowary Casuarius casuarius.

 

Emu, originally uploaded by marj k.

 

 

Emus II, originally uploaded by jennofarc.

 

Emus are easy to identify. Adult Emus are covered with shaggy grey-brown feathers except for the neck and head, which are largely naked and bluish-black. The wings are greatly reduced, but the legs are long and powerful. Each foot has three forward-facing toes and no hind toe.

 

Emu chick (Dromaius novaehollandiae), originally uploaded by alumroot.

 

The Emu is found only in Australia. It lives throughout most of the continent, ranging from coastal regions to high in the Snowy Mountains. The main habitats are sclerophyll forest and savanna woodland. These birds are rarely found in rainforest or very arid areas. Emus were once found in Tasmania, but were exterminated soon after Europeans arrived. Two dwarf species of emus that lived on Kangaroo Island and King Island also became extinct.

emu family, originally uploaded by David Haberlah.

2 responses to “Emu

  1. Please either credit my photo properly or remove it. While it may be true that I did originally upload the photo, I also operated the camera that took the photo and licensed it under creative commons. Since I license under a by-nc-sa license and you are not crediting me as the creator, but as the uploader, I believe you are violating the terms of the license in failing to properly acknowledge me as the creator of the photo. Please understand, I am happy to have people use my photos, but I prefer to be properly credited. If you do not believe that you can comply for your own reasons, I will feel no ill will. I will make it more clear in my profile on how my photos are to be credited.

  2. For God’s sake; give the man credit for his work…not everyone has the talent to even spot a good subject matter for photographing. I refer to it as being able to ”see” the subject artistically and yes it’s a natural talent but it’s also taken some work in developing it to it’s full potential.

Leave a Reply

